BOT ELECTION GUIDELINES

Board of Trustees is the highest governing body of Simbag sa Emerhensya asin Dagdag Paseguro Mutual Benefit Association Inc (SEDP MBA). It is composed of seven (7) members with four (4) officers namely; the President, Vice President, Secretary and the Treasurer.

I. COMPOSITION

- 1. The Board of Trustees of SEDP MBA shall consist of seven (7) members namely the following:
 - a. Three (3) trustees shall be elected from the active members with existing loans funded by the SEDP-Simbag sa Pag-Asenso Inc.
 - b. One (1) Trustee appointed from SEDP-Simbag sa Pag-Asenso Inc.
 - c. Three (3) Independent Trustees
 - Two (2) of which shall be elected by the active members of SEDP MBA
 - One (1) appointed from the Social Action Center
- 2. The Board of Trustees shall be elected by the general membership of a majority votes during its annual meeting.

II. QUALIFICATIONS, RENUMERATIONS & TERMS OF OFFICE

- 1. The Trustees to be elected from the general membership must be of legal age, recognized active member of SEDP MBA or any of its affiliates, has consistently performed very satisfactorily for at least the last three (3) years in her membership and has ongoing business funded by loan from SEDP Simbag sa Pag-Asenso Inc. or any of its affiliates and is willing to perform the functions of a Trustee without any remuneration.
- 2. No member convicted by final judgment of an offense punishable by imprisonment for a period exceeding six (6) years, or a violation of the Corporation Code of the Philippines committed within five (5) years prior to the date of her election or appointment, shall qualify as a Trustee or Officer. In addition, a member whose membership has been terminated due to various reasons, and/or has resigned from membership with SEDP MBA or any of its affiliates, shall also be disqualified from being a Trustee or Officer.
- 3. The elected members of the Board of Trustees shall serve beginning immediately following their election for the following Terms.
 - a. Three (3) years (1) SAC Appointee, (1) Independent Trustee, (2) Members
 - b. Two (2) years (1) SEDP Appointee, (1) Independent Trustee, (1) Member

Provided, that no member shall serve as member of the Board of Trustees for more than two (2) consecutive terms except for the Independent Trustees who have a maximum cumulative of nine (9) year term limit.

4. Independent Trustees shall be preferably a college graduate with trainings or exposure in governance, accounting and management.

5. The Trustee Nominee form the general membership shall be selected from among the SEDP MBA Coordinators selected per Branch/SPO.

III. ELECTION PROCESS

- 1. The representatives from Social Action Center and SEDP Simbag sa Pag-Asenso Inc. shall be appointed by the respective institutions while the Independent Trustees shall be elected by the general membership.
- 2. The Three (3) representatives from the general membership shall be elected by the members from among the Three (3) Clusters during the Annual General Meeting.
- 3. The members shall vote via their respective Branch/SPO representatives thru a proxy vote form provided by SEDP MBA and cast during the Annual General Meeting.
- 4. During the conduct of election, the respective Branch/SPO representatives shall elect Three (3) Board of Trustees from among the MBA Coordinator Nominees from their respective cluster (*see attached list of nominees*) and elect Two (2) Independent Trustees from among the Nominees.
- 5. The number of votes cast by the Branch/SPO representatives shall be counted based on the Proxy Form submitted during the Annual General Meeting.
- 6. Tabulation of votes shall be conducted by the MIS representatives under the supervision of SEDP MBA management deputized by the Nomination Committee.
- 7. The Board of Trustees elected shall be as follows.
 - a. Three (3) member representatives (One who garnered the highest votes for each Cluster)
 - b. Two (2) Independent Trustees (Top 2 in number of votes)
- 8. In case of a tie, draw lots will be done through toss coin to determine the winner.
- 9. Decision of the Nomination Committee shall be final after the proclamation of elected Board of Trustees during the Annual General Meeting.

IV. ELECTION FLOW

